JOHNSTOWN-MONROE LOCAL SCHOOLS

January 10, 2022

Organizational Session

The Johnstown-Monroe Local Board of Education met in Organizational Session on Monday, January 10, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. in the Middle School Media Center, and also streamed through the District's Facebook and YouTube accounts. Roll call was answered by Mr. Benton, Mrs. Booher, Mrs. Davis, Mr. Swauger, and Mrs. Thomas.

OPEN THE FLOOR FOR NOMINATIONS FOR BOARD PRESIDENT FOR CY2022

The nomination was made by Mr. Alan Benton to elect Mr. Tim Swauger to Board President seconded by Mrs. Amanda Davis

No other nominations for Board President were received.

Nominations for Board President were closed.

22-001 Moved by Mr. Alan Benton to appoint Mr. Tim Swauger President

Aye: Mr. Alan Benton, Mrs. Amanda Davis, Mrs. Ruth Ann Booher, Mr. Tim Swauger, and Mrs. Anne Thomas

Motion carried.

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT FOR 2022: Mr. Tim Swauger

OPEN THE FLOOR FOR NOMINATIONS FOR BOARD VICE-PRESIDENT FOR CY2022

The nomination was made by Mr. Alan Benton to elect Mrs. Amanda Davis to Board Vice-President, seconded by Mr. Tim Swauger

The nomination was made by Mrs. Ruth Ann Booher to elect Mrs. Anne Thomas to Board Vice-President, seconded by Mrs. Anne Thomas

Nominations for Board Vice-President were closed.

22-002 Moved by Mr. Alan Benton to appoint Mrs. Amanda Davis Vice-President

Aye: Mr. Alan Benton, Mr. Tim Swauger, Mrs. Amanda Davis

Nay: Mrs. Ruth Ann Booher, Mrs. Anne Thomas

Motion carried.

ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENT FOR 2022: Mrs. Amanda Davis

STANDING AUTHORIZATIONS FOR CY2022

22-003 Moved by Mrs. Booher, seconded by Mr. Benton to approve standing authorizations as listed:

a. Set the time and date of Board Meetings as:

January 24, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Work Session
February 14, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
February 28, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Work Session
March 14, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
April 11, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
April 25, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Work Session
May 9, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
May 23, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Work Session
June 13, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
July 11, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
August 8, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
August 22, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Work Session
September 12, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
September 26, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Work Session
October 10, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
October 24, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Work Session
November 14, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session
December 12, 2022	6:30 p.m.	Regular Session

- b. Set the Columbus Dispatch and The Newark Advocate as the official newspapers for notices to the public during CY2022.
- c. Authorize the Treasurer to pay all contractual obligations during CY2022 and for said payments to be made within the board adopted appropriations.
- d. Authorize the Treasurer to issue blanket Purchase Orders in the amount not to exceed \$50,000, except utilities up to \$75,000.
- e. Approve Bricker and Eckler, L.L.P., Scott, Scriven, L.L.P. as special councils on certain matters related to legal documents, contracts, tax resolutions, and any other legal advisement to be determined for CY2022.

JOHNSTOWN-MONROE LOCAL SCHOOLS

- f. Authorize the Treasurer to invest any interim or inactive monies from the General Fund during 2022.
- g. Designate the Superintendent as the official purchasing agent and be authorized to apply for all federal and state grants for CY2022.
- h. Designate the Superintendent, Treasurer, and Board Members as Tax Incentive Review Commission (TIRC) representatives for the District CY2022.
- i. Establish a Board Service Fund for Board related expenses, according to O.R.C. 3315.15 for CY2022.
- j. Approve for the purchase of coffee, meals and/or refreshments for meetings for the purpose of school business, at the discretion of the Superintendent, in conjunction with the Board.
- k. Approve the renewal of performance bonds for the period covering January 10, 2022 through the 2023 Organizational Meeting for the Superintendent, Treasurer and Board President.
- 1. Authorize the Treasurer to request advances on tax collections from the Licking County Auditor for real property during CY2022.
- m. Authorize participation in the following cooperative purchasing programs, as needed:
- 1. DAS State Cooperative Purchasing Program
- 2. Association of Educational Purchasing Agencies (AEPA) Cooperative
- 3. Metropolitan Educational Technology Association (META)
- 4. National Joint Powers Alliance (NJPA)
- 5. National Intergovernmental Purchasing Alliance (NIPA)
- 6. The Cooperative Purchasing Network (TCPN)
- 7. U.S. Communities Government Purchasing Alliance
- n. Authorize the Superintendent and Board President to employ temporary personnel with notification and subsequent approval sought at the next Regular Board meeting.
- Establish a Records Commission composed of the President of the Board of Education, The Treasurer
 of the Board and Superintendent of Schools. The Commission shall meet at least once per year and
 establish rules for retention and disposal of records and to review the same.
- p. Authorize the Superintendent, Treasurer, and Board President to use legal services of the Licking County Prosecutor, Franklin County Prosecutor, and/or legal services with expertise and expertise and experience with public school laws; Special Education Laws, Labor issues, Financial Issues and other legal matters pertinent to the operation of a school district.
- q. Authorize the Superintendent to accept resignations from any staff member during times when the Board is not in session.
- r. Approve renewal of membership in The Ohio School Boards Association.
- s. Approve Joint Agreement Appointing The Business Advisory Council Of The Educational Service Center to Serve As The Business Advisory Council For The School District.

Aye: Mrs. Booher, Mr. Benton, Mrs. Davis, Mrs. Thomas, and Mr. Swauger Motion carried.

22-004 Moved by Mrs. Booher, seconded by Mrs. Davis to appoint Mr. Benton as Legislative Liaison for the 2022 calendar year.

Aye: Mrs. Booher, Mrs. Davis, Mr. Benton, Mrs. Thomas, and Mr. Swauger Motion carried.

22-005 Moved Mr. Benton, seconded by Mrs. Booher to name the following Board Members as liaisons to Administrative Committees:

Safety Committee: Tim Swauger, Alternate-Amanda Davis

Facility Construction Committee: Ruth Ann Booher, Alternate-Tim Swauger Maintenance/Grounds Committee: Anne Thomas, Alternate-Ruth Ann Booher

Technology Committee: Alan Benton, Alternate-Amanda Davis Insurance Committee: Anne Thomas, Alternate-Ruth Ann Booher Policy Development Committee: Amanda Davis, Alternate-Alan Benton Curriculum Committee: Amanda Davis, Alternate Anne Thomas

Curriculum Committee: Amanda Davis, Alternate-Anne Thomas

Aye: Mr. Benton, Mrs. Booher, Mrs. Davis, Mrs. Thomas, and Mr. Swauger Motion carried.

JOHNSTOWN-MONROE LOCAL SCHOOLS

22-006	Moved by Mr. Benton, seconded by M 2022 calendar year.	Mrs. Booher to appoint Amanda Davis as Student Liaison for the
	Aye: Mr. Benton, Mrs. Booher, Mrs. Motion carried.	Davis, Mrs. Thomas, and Mr. Swauger
22-007	ADJOURNMENT Moved by Mr. Benton, seconded by Mat 6:22 p.m.	Irs. Thomas to adjourn the Organizational Meeting of the Board
	Aye: Mr. Benton, Mrs. Thomas, Mrs. Motion carried.	Booher, Mrs. Davis, and Mr. Swauger
	President	Treasurer